Requirements for auto insurance will increase in Wisconsin, beginning Jan. 1, 2010, according to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation. Louisiana is expected to implement the same increase.
Both states will be raising minimum liability coverage requirements, which could cause higher premiums. Residents in Louisiana already pay some of the highest premiums in the nation.
Liability minimums will be increased to $15,000 for property damage, $50,000 for injury or death of one person, and $100,000 for injury or death of more than one person.
Both drivers and owners of vehicles will be required to show proof of insurance if asked by a police officer—whether they are in a car accident or at a traffic light. If a driver cannot show proof of insurance, he or she can be fined $10. If the driver has no insurance, however, the fine can be up to $500.